Kenya Government and Political Parties

According to politicsezine, Kenya is bordered by five countries: Uganda, Tanzania, South Sudan, Ethiopia, and Somalia. To the west lies Uganda, a landlocked country with a population of over 44 million people. The capital city of Uganda is Kampala, which is home to many historical sites including Kasubi Tombs and the Ndere Cultural Centre. To the south lies Tanzania, a country with an estimated population of over 57 million people. Its capital city is Dodoma, and Tanzania is home to several attractions such as Mount Kilimanjaro and Serengeti National Park. Further east is South Sudan, the newest country in Africa with a population of around 11 million people. Its capital city is Juba and its main attractions include Boma National Park and Sudd Wetland. To the northeast lies Ethiopia, a landlocked country with a population of over 109 million people. Its capital city is Addis Ababa and it’s known for its diverse wildlife reserves like Bale Mountains National Park. Lastly, to Kenya’s east lies Somalia, another landlocked nation with an estimated population of 15 million people. Its capital city Mogadishu has been through many conflicts but still attracts visitors for its cultural sites like Mogadishu Cathedral and Tombs of Sheikh Abadir Umar Ar-Rida.

Government of Kenya

According to programingplease, the Government of Kenya is a multi-party democracy that is made up of a President, a Deputy President, and a National Assembly. The President is the head of state and the commander in chief of the armed forces. The Deputy President assists the president in his duties and also serves as an advisor to the president. The National Assembly consists of 349 members from 47 constituencies across the country. It is responsible for passing legislation, approving government policy, and debating important matters concerning the nation.

The government of Kenya operates on a system of checks and balances to ensure that all branches are accountable to each other and to the people they serve. The executive branch consists of various ministries, led by Cabinet Secretaries appointed by the president. Each ministry has its own specific set of responsibilities that it must fulfill in order to keep things running smoothly in Kenya. There are also independent commissions that are responsible for certain areas such as elections, media regulation, human rights enforcement, financial oversight, etc.

The judicial branch is made up of several courts: Magistrate Courts which deal with minor offenses; High Courts which deal with more serious offenses; Court of Appeal; Supreme Court; and finally the Judiciary Ombudsman which handles complaints against judges or court staff. All these courts work together to ensure justice is served fairly and impartially throughout Kenya. Finally, there are numerous governing bodies such as local authorities or county governments who have their own responsibilities within their respective areas such as collecting taxes or implementing development projects.

Recent Heads of Government of Kenya

Uhuru Kenyatta has been the President of Kenya since 2013. He is the fourth president of the Republic of Kenya, succeeding Mwai Kibaki, and is the son of Jomo Kenyatta, Kenya’s first president. He was re-elected in 2017 for a second five-year term in office. His tenure has seen improved relations with neighboring countries such as Somalia and South Sudan, as well as increased investment in infrastructure and economic growth. He has also made significant progress in tackling corruption within the government, while also introducing new laws that have improved access to quality healthcare and education for all Kenyan citizens. In terms of foreign policy, he has worked to foster closer ties with global leaders such as China and India, while also taking a strong stance against terrorism within East Africa. Additionally, he has sought to boost regional integration through initiatives such as the East African Community (EAC).

Major Political Parties in Kenya

The major political parties in Kenya are the Jubilee Party, National Super Alliance (NASA), Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), United Republican Party (URP), and Wiper Democratic Movement (WDM). The Jubilee Party is a center-right political party that was formed in 2016 after the merger of several smaller political parties. It is led by President Uhuru Kenyatta and is the majority party in Kenya’s Parliament. The National Super Alliance is a coalition of opposition parties that was formed to challenge President Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party in the 2017 election. It is led by Raila Odinga and includes several smaller parties, such as ODM, URP, and WDM. ODM was founded in 2005 by Raila Odinga as an opposition to then-President Mwai Kibaki’s government. It has since become one of Kenya’s most popular political parties, with a strong support base among members of the Luo tribe. URP was founded in 2013 by former Vice President William Ruto as a branch of the Jubilee Party. It has since become one of Kenya’s most powerful political parties and has been instrumental in President Kenyatta’s agenda for economic development and infrastructure improvement. Finally, WDM was founded in 2011 by Kalonzo Musyoka as an alternative to ODM and other mainstream political parties. It has since grown into one of Kenya’s most vocal opposition parties and continues to challenge the government on issues such as corruption and human rights abuses.

Kenya Government

About the author