History of Maine

The first archaeological finds attributed to man found in Maine are about 5,000 years ago. The Indian tribes that found the first Europeans to arrive in this region were those of the Abnaki, Passamaquoddy and Penobscot Indians. The first documented visit of Europeans to Maine was that of the explorer Giovanni da Verrazano who drew a map of the coast in 1524. Later the Frenchman Samuel de Champlain landed on the island of Mont Desert on the coast of this state. The French settled in the territory in 1604, on the St. Croix River. Shortly thereafter, in 1607, the British established a plantation north of the Kennebec River. These primitive settlements disappeared in a short time, but the British created new settlements in 1622, thanks to Ferdinand Gorges and John Mason who managed with the Plymouth Company, founded by themselves in New England, to have land in Maine for exploitation, actually the territory that was granted, ranged from New Hampshire to Massachusetts to Canada. In 1629, the Plymouth Company divided the territory assigned to Gorges, who took charge of the northern section of the Piscataqua River, which has since been called Maine. A year later, there were at least ten English settler settlements in the present state of Maine. In 1691, Massachusetts bought Maine from the Gorges heirs and this territory became a borough of Massachusetts.

  • See ejiaxing.org for Maine state facts, including geography, climate, flora and fauna as well as major cities.

The border disputes that began in the seventeenth century for the territory of Maine between the British and the French, were definitively resolved with the Treaty of Paris, of 1763. A little later, in 1775 saw the beginning of the War of Independence, where the citizens of Maine actively participated in cutting ties with England. After Independence, Maine decided to break away from Massachusetts but this did not happen until 1819. Maine’s entry into the Union, as a non-slave state, occurred in 1820. In 1842, Great Britain and the United States signed the final agreement on the border between Maine and Canada.

After the Civil War (1861-1865), Maine’s economy, hitherto based on the timber, fishing and shipbuilding industries, diversified, and various textile and leather industries were established. Since then, potato cultivation began in the area of ​​Arrostook, in the northern plateau, one of the most important economic sectors in the state. Beginning in the twentieth century, Maine developed hydroelectric power generation, and built various papermaking plants. Close to these established industries, tourism is currently a major source for the Maine economy.

  • See itypemba.com to learn specific information about Maine overview.


Augusta, city and capital of the state of Maine, and the seat of Kennebec County, in the United States. It is located on the banks of the Kennebec River, in the southwestern part of the state. The main economic activities are related to public administration services, such as tourism, and the production of IT products, and industries in the paper and steel sector. Its main attractions are the State House (designed by Charles Bulfinch and completed in 1832), Fort Western (1754, restored, now a museum), the State Museum of Maine and the University of Maine (1965). Close to the city are the Belgrade Lakes, an important tourist center.

Founded as a shopping mall by members of the Plymouth colony (Massachusetts). Fort Western was his first permanent structure, and was used as a base in the Anglo-French War (1754–1763). During the US War of Independence (1775–1783), General Benedict Arnold gathered around 1,100 men in the fort to carry out an ill-fated march to Quebec against the British. The present city of Augusta had during its history the names of Cushnoc or Koussinoc (1625–1771), Hallowell, 1771–1797, and Harrington (1797). Its current name was adopted in late 1797, and comes from Pamela Augusta Dearborn, daughter of Henry Dearborn, a soldier during the war of Independence and District of Maine Representative in the United States Congress. In 1832 he replaced Portland as the state capital.

Maine State Flag

About the author