Austria Armed Forces

Army. – The Treaty of Saint-Germain-enLaye imposes on Austria a strictly established military organization, based on long-term voluntary recruitment.

The army therefore has a small size. It is organized on 6 mixed brigades, each of which is made up as follows: 2 regiments of infantry or alpine hunters; 1 artillery group; 1 squadron of cavalry; the pioneer battalion; 1 telegraph company; 1 auto-tracked section; 1 ordinary train section. Eventually, the following may also be assigned to the brigades: 1-2 autonomous infantry battalions or alpine hunters; 1-2 cyclist battalions. For Austria military, please check

The brigades are a tactical and territorial body and are distinguished with a number and with the name of the province in which the command resides.

Constitution of individual weapons:

a) infantry: 6 infantry regiments; 6 regiments of alpine hunters; 2 autonomous infantry battalions; 2 autonomous alpine hunter battalions; 6 cycling battalions.

The regiments of infantry and alpine hunters are on 3 battalions (except 4 hunter regiments which only have 2) and 1 liaison platoon. The battalions are on 3 companies of infantry and 1 machine gun; the self-employed have a similar training, but with a stronger classification. The infantry company is made up of 4 platoons of 3 squads each: in each platoon two squads are riflemen, the other is machine gunners (light) in the 1st and 2nd platoons, order-holders in the 3rd, specialists in the 4th. The machine gun company comprises 2 machine gun platoons on two weapons, a link platoon and a pioneer platoon. Each autonomous regiment or battalion is also assigned a music. The cycling battalions have 3 cycling companies and 1 machine gun; the cycling companies are on 2 cycling platoons (2 weapons), the machine gun company on 2 machine gun platoons (2 weapons) and 1 pioneer platoon. Each battalion also has a liaison team.

b) cavalry: 6 autonomous squadrons of 4 platoons (one of which is machine gunners) and 1 pioneer squad.

c) artillery: 1 independent artillery regiment; 6 brigade artillery groups.

The independent artillery regiment consists of 3 groups: the 1st of 2 batteries, one of 4 mountain 75 guns, the other of 2 mountain 100 howitzers; the 2nd and 3rd group, of three batteries (of 4 pieces), two of 100 howitzers and one of 104 self-supported guns.

Each group also has two machine guns for anti-aircraft defense.

The brigade artillery groups are 4 out of 4 batteries: 1 of 4 field guns of 80; 1 of 4 campaign howitzers of 100; 1 of 2 104 heavy field guns; 1 of 10 bombards of 140.

Of the six groups, three have materials from the mountains rather than from the countryside.

d) genius: 6 pioneer battalions and 1 battalion command that brings together the bridge sections of the 6 battalions. Each battalion receives general instructions on technical works and a particular one, corresponding to the following specialties: photoelectricists, railway workers, river mines, river navigation, drilling machines, cableways. Each battalion is ordered on 2 companies of 4 platoons each, 1 material depot and 1 bridge section. There are also 6 telegraph companies on 4 platoons (2 connecting, 1 interception, the traveling pigeons) and 1 material depot.

The services employ, for the most part, civilian personnel. For transport there are 6 car platoons and 6 carreggio platoons (i per brigade).

The main military establishments are: the bicycle and automotive equipment workshop, based in Vienna; the state factory, the only one allowed by the Treaty of Saint-Germain, comprising various sections, located in Vienna, Enzesfeld, Wollendorf, Blumau, Felixdorf, for the manufacture of small arms, artillery and ammunition; the central depot for weapons and artillery materials in Vienna; 3 technical workshops for engineering materials in Klosterneuburg; the laboratory for connecting materials in Sankt Pölten; 3 material warehouses placed at the dependence of 3 brigades.

Recruitment, as mentioned, is voluntary. The stop is 12 years. The balanced force cannot exceed 30,000 men, but so far this figure has not yet been reached due to the sad financial conditions of the country (as of 30 June 1926 there were a total of about 21,000 men in arms). The budget of the war for 1928 was 88,630,000 shillings (equal to about 62 million and a half lire-gold).

Overall, the Austrian army is a body particularly suited to mountain warfare: out of 36 infantry battalions, 16 are alpine hunters; out of 84 batteries, 30 are from the mountains, 34 from the countryside and 20 heavy pitches.

Marina. – Austria ceased to be a maritime power after the war. The peace treaty allowed her to keep four small gunboats in service for the river police on the Danube.

Aviation. – Austria, by the Treaty of Saint-Germain, has no military aviation.

Austria Armed Forces

About the author